## ALAMEDA COUNTY MAYORS' CONFERENCE MINUTES

Meeting of December 11, 2024

President Marchand called the meeting to order on December 11, 2024, at 6:30 P.M. at the Fogo De Chao at 5633 Bay Street, Emeryville, California.

#### 1. Roll Call

The following mayors, or their elected alternates, were present during the proceedings:

City	Member Attendee
Albany	Vice Mayor Peggy McQuaid
Berkeley	Mayor-Elect Adena Ishii
Dublin	Mayor Michael McCorriston
Emeryville	Mayor David Mourra
Fremont	Mayor Raj Salwan
Hayward	Mayor Mark Salinas
Livermore	Mayor John Marchand
Newark	Mayor Michael Hannon
Piedmont	Mayor Jennifer Cavenaugh
Pleasanton	Mayor Karla Brown
San Leandro	Mayor Juan Gonzalez
Union City	Mayor-Gary Singh

## 2. Approval of the November 11, 2024, 2024 Meeting Minutes

It was moved by Mayor Salinas and seconded by Mayor Mourra to approve the November 11, 2024, meeting minutes. The motion was approved unanimously.

### 3. Agenda Amendments

No agenda amendments

#### 4. Public Comments and Other Announcements

President Marchand recognized the newly elected mayors and asked the attendees to introduce themselves

Bradley Dunn, Manager of Local Government and Community Relations with the Bay Area Rapid Transit District (BART), commented on BART's activities, including the Sweater Fest that was recently held at BART's Rockridge Station. Mr. Dunn also announced that a 5% BART fare increase will be starting on January 1, 2025.

Y'Anad Burrell, with the East Bay Municipal District (EBMUD), informed attendees of reported cases where people have been posing as EBMUD employees to gain access to burglarize the homes.

Stephen Baiter, Executive Director of the East Bay Economic Development Alliance (East Bay EDA), announced the selection of the Alameda County Community Food Bank and the Food Bank of Contra Costa County and Solano as the Legacy Awards for the 2025 East Bay Innovation Awards. He also reminded attendees that the 2025 Innovation Awards will take place on March 27, 2025.

At the request of President Marchand, outgoing Mayors Karla Brown, Lilly Mei, Michael McCorriston, Courtney Welch, John Miki, and Jennifer Cavenaugh addressed the attendees, thanking all the mayors for their support during their time as mayor and expressing that it was an honor to serve as mayor of their respective cities.

## 5. Member Reports on Regional Activities and Committees

There were no member regional board reports.

## 6. Appointments to Regional Boards and Call for Applications

There were no regional board appointments scheduled for this meeting.

## 7. League of California Cities Reports, Legislation Update

Samantha Caygill, Regional Public Affairs Manager, East Bay Division, League of California Cities (League), provided an update on the League's recently adopted priorities, which include workforce retention, new economic development opportunities, revenue retention, insurance matters, and climate change.

### 8. Other Business Matters

a) There were no other business matters

#### 9. Request for Future Agenda Items and Presenters

No future agenda items were recommended.

## 10. Host City Mayor's Report

Former Mayor and current City councilmember Courtney Welch, City of Emeryville, thanked her team for coordinating the event and discussed current city projects and accomplishments, including the "Trotten City Council District, Huchium Park, the acquisition of the Boyd Auto Body site that will be converted into a city park, affordable housing, the Quite Zone Rail projects, which resulted in trains refraining from blowing their whistles in Emeryville, and Citywide traffic improvements.

#### 11. Meeting Presentation

David Swing, Executive Director for the East Bay Regional Communications Authority (EBRCSA), introduced himself to the group and provided a status overview of the EBRCSA, including its scope of service, benefits, upcoming capital improvement needs, fee adjustments, and the work of its Board of Directors.

Mr. Swing answered questions from former Mayor Lily Mei and Joan Malloy, Union City City Manager.

# 12. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven Bocian Executive Director